Pop Goes the Library

Using Pop Culture to Make Libraries Better.

by Sophie Brookover, Liz Burns, Melissa Rabey, Susan Quinn, John Klima, Carlie Webber, Karen Corday, and Eli Neiburger. We're librarians. We're pop culture mavens. We're Pop Culture Librarians.


NJLA 2005 Awards & Honors

Here is a complete list of the NJLA Awards & Honors recipients for 2005.

Trustee Recognition Award: Eleanor Owens, Piscataway Public Library (Nominated by Molly Newling, Assistant Director, Piscataway Public Library)

NJLA/EMAnj Partnership Award: Patricia Vasilik, Clifton Public Library (Nominated by Michelle Kowalsky and HRLC Youth Services Members)

Library Service Award to an Individual: Ceil Leedom, South Brunswick Public Library

Library Service Award to a Library Group: Mfusion Musical Group, South Brunswick Public Library (Nominated by Christopher Carbone, Assistant Director, South Brunswick Public Library)

Public Relations Awards
Total Operating Budget of $500,000 to $1,000,000
Fundraising Literature: Boonton Holmes Public Library
Service Brochure: Paterson Public Library

Total Operating Budget of $1,000,0000 and over
Newsletter: Princeton Public Library
Program: Weiner Library, Fairleigh Dickinson University
Service Brochure: Princeton Public Library
Website: Plainfield Public Library
Fundraising Literature: Middletown Township Public Library

Library Champion Awards: Dorothy Scott Jones & Aline Moss (Nominated by Doreen Shoba and Members of the Scholarship Committee); Stephen Wiley, Morristown & Morris Township Library (Nominated by Susan Gulick, Director, Morristown & Morris Township Library); The Karma Foundation (Nominated by Patricia Tumulty and Carol Phillips); Michael J. Scheiring, Thomas Edison State College (Nominated by Norma Blake, State Librarian); The Honorable Wayne Bryant & The Honorable Louis Greenwald (Nominated by Beth Egan, Gloucester City Public Library)

Susan G. Swartzburg Preservation Award 2004: Elizabeth (Betty) Steckman (Presented by Alan Delozier)

President's Award: Patricia Vasilik, Clifton Public Library (twice honored! Way to go, Pat!)

Librarian of the Year: Kathy Schalk-Greene, Mount Laurel Library

A hearty congratulations to all of the winners & honorees! And many thanks to Meg Kolaya, Chair of the Honors & Awards Committee, for sending me the full list, reproduced above.

By the way, if any of you NJLA members are interested in joining a committee, the form to fill out is handily available, right here! Committee work is fun, interesting, and brings NJLA members from all over the state together to set & meet goals of the organization. It's a great way to network, and really gives you an up close view of how our professional assocation works. I highly recommend committee work as a very valuable & worthwhile investment of your time.


Post a Comment

<< Home